Welcome, Guest
Username Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: training program?

training program? 7 years, 11 months ago #199

• jimgrills
  • Fresh Boarder
hey just wandering if there is a weekly training program on this site or something like that,im pretty new to this and just not sure how to go about fiting in the exersise's from your vidioes with other cardio weights and im not sure if i should be doing them just once a week or what not or what weights or cardio traing i should even be doing, i would like to put on some wieght but not heaps but do want to build all the things i need to for boxing. i started training about 3 months ago but dont have any set program so im pretty much just winging it and havent got many results yet. i have a fair bit of equipment so just doing it at home for the time being. i am planing to join a boxing gym early next year. any help would be apreciated. thanks

Re:training program? 7 years, 11 months ago #200

• Joe Rossi
  • Fresh Boarder
Jim,
Welcome. Do you plan on fighting? Are you sparring yet? This is a point I want to make to guys starting out in this sport. Stick with me for a minute.

Nothing will make you a better fighter than fighting. Get to a boxing gym ASAP. This includes all your skill work (heavy bag, speed bag, double end bag, shadow boxing, pad work, etc.). For a beginner (3 months), nothing is more important than mastering the basics. Just by working hard and drilling the basics, you are actually working on your conditioning and should be improving your punching power, strength, and power endurance. Training hard on the basics, you should be improving from week to week. Keep in mind that I am a \"Strength and Condition Coach\" and not a \"Boxing Coach\". You would think that my first answer to you would be for you to hit the weights, and start training like Rocky Balboa!